DOMINION. ROYAL COURT

Cards designed by: Mike Young

This is a fan based expansion created by Mike Young for the game Dominion. It uses materials trademarked and
copyrighted by Rio Grande Games. The cards and files in the expansion are not to be sold or distributed for
profit. The new material in this expansion is copyright © Mike Young and has been made available in a Creative
Commons Share Alike license. Original art for the cards taken from photographs and illustration in flickr and are
copyright their original artists.

These cards may be used to create standalone sets or may be added to mixes from other Dominion expansions.

This set introduces the concepts of:

Kingdom cards where not all the cards in the pile are identical.

Duration cards that last for more than 1 turn. Note that Duration cards are discarded during the
cleanup phase of the last turn they have an effect. If they have a continuous effect then they are only
discarded when that effect stops. Return all duration cards still in play at the end of the game to your
deck.

Duration cards that allow players to perform an action instead of playing an action card.

Use tokens to determine when or if a card has been used. If a duration card is removed from play,
discard all use tokens on it.

General concepts:

Start of your turn. If several things happen at the start of your turn, you may choose which order they
happen.

Duration cards. Duration cards stay in play until the end of the turn they cease having an effect. If a
duration card does not reference a specific future turn, then it stays in play for the rest of the game.

You will need a number of tokens for this set. Pennies work great as do glass stones.

PRINTING AND COLLATING

You can print the game by printing the royal court cards.pdf document. Print 10 copies of pages 1-2, one copy
of pages 3-4 and 3 copies of page 5. This expansion does not include images for the backs of Kingdom cards.
You can also print an extra set of cards with blue backs for use in creating random decks. Again, we’re not
including the blue backed cards.

Page 4 includes Contingency Markers. These are used by the Contingency Plans card.

CARD NOTES

Advisor: This is a set of 10 cards, but each card is different. Advisors are considered one set of Kingdom cards.
The player purchasing or gaining an Advisor may choose which of the 10 (or however many remaining in the
kingdom pile) to gain. All Advisors are considered to be a card of the same name “Advisor,” (for purpose of
cards like Tribute) even if they have different names in the text box.

Chamberlain: Having multiple Chamberlains in play (via Throne Room, for example) does not allow you

to draw more than 6 cards, but does allow you to use the Chamberlain’s power more often.

Exchequer: You may only discard one Treasure at the start of your turns for Exchequer. If you have
multiple Exchequers in play (via Throne Room for example), you may discard a Treasure for each one to

get multiple bonuses.



e General: You may only remove 1 Use Token from General per turn. If you have multiple Generals in
play (via Throne Room for example), you may remove 1 a Use Token from each one to get multiple
bonuses.

e High Priest: You may only remove 1 Use Token from High Priest per turn. If you have multiple High
Priests in play (via Throne Room for example), you may remove 1 a Use Token from each one to get
multiple bonuses.

e Man At Arms: Keep in mind that Man At Arms is discarded from play after the token is placed on it to
avoid the Attack.

e Prime Minister: You may only remove 1 Use Token from Prime Minister per turn. If you have multiple
High Priests in play (via Throne Room for example), you may remove 1 a Use Token from each one to get
multiple bonuses.

e Taster: This can get a bit complex. See Appendix A for more details.

e Treasurer: You completely skip your action phase to use Treasurer. Even if you get +Actions from other
cards, it makes no difference because you completely skip that part of your turn. If you are at net zero
or negative Actions, you may still skip your Action phase to use Treasurer.

It is suggested that players are only allowed to have as many Advisors in play as there are players in the game.
This is an optional rule.

Alliance: Players may only buy one card in the special Alliance Buy phase regardless of any +Buys they may
have. Effects that give +coins (such as from Dismissal) do not count during the Alliance Buy phase. However,
effects that change the cost or buying power of cards (such as Coppersmith or Bridge) do count during the
special Alliance Buy phase. Treasures are considered played for the purpose of Treasure abilities (like those
from Prosperity) when they are used to buy the card during this phase. They are considered played by the
person buying the card, not the owner. And they remain in play just for the duration of buying that one card.
See Appendix A for more details.

Players may only use enough Treasure cards to buy their Card as needed in the Alliance phase. You could, for
example, use two Gold to buy a card that cost 4, but you could not use 3 Silver to buy a card that cost 4 when 2
Silver would be enough.

Buried Treasure: Note that it gives you -1 Action. The net effect of having negative actions is as if you had no
Actions available. Say that on turn A, you managed to play three Buried Treasures. On your next turn, you
would have -2 Actions total available (1 you normally get -3 for the Buried Treasures). This would be as if you
had 0 Actions available that turn. BUT say that you also had a Prime Minister in play. You may remove a token
from your Prime Minister to give you +1 Action, but you would still have a net -1 Actions and could not take any
actions that turn.

Cartographer: You draw the card after the Action card you play takes effect. This normally doesn’t make
difference, but it does for cards like Bureaucrat. (In which case, the Bureaucrat places a Silver on top of your
deck which you then draw for Cartographer.) Note that you do not draw a card if you play another
Cartographer. Note that cards like Throne Room tell you to play Action Cards and those plays also trigger
Cartographer.

Contingency Plans: Discard Contingency Markers if the card they are on leaves play. Do not include this card if
you do not have any Duration cards in your set of Kingdom cards. If the Duration Card the Contingency Plans is
on requires that the player had done something on their last turn (Example: Royal Chambers, Tactician, or
Haven), the player of Contingency Plans is assumed to have NOT done that thing on their last turn. Remember
that the Contingency Marker is considered a copy of the card it is on, so if it is trashed, the original card is not
trashed. It is strongly suggested that players use the included Contingency Markers and have the arrows
pointing at the player who played Contingency Plans. See Appendix A for more information.



Dignitary: Dignitary remains in play until the end of your next turn even though it has no effect on that turn.
This is relevant for cards like Dismissal, Wazir, and Grand Ballroom.

Dismissal: If the targeted Duration Card has other cards with it, and the targeted duration card says what
happens to those cards when it leaves play (Dungeon, Vault), that is what happens to those cards if the targeted
Duration Card is targeted by Dismissal. Otherwise, the cards kept with the targeted Duration Card (Haven,
Treasurer, Royal Chambers) are discarded from play. Cards played with that targeted card (King’s Court, Throne
Room, &c) are likewise removed from play. Contingency Markers are only considered Duration Cards on the turn
they are in effect.

Dungeon: The cost in the text is 6& meaning that any Victory cards that cost 6 or less are included even if they
don’t cost a Potion. Cards are placed under Dungeon face down. There is no limitation on the kinds of cards
that may be placed under Dungeon as your Action.

Emporium: Emporium remains in play for the rest of the game. Return it to your deck at the end of the game.
Emporium can be targeted by Dismissal and counts as a Duration card in play for cards like Grand Ballroom and
Wazir.

Grand Ballroom: It is recommended that you have at least 2 sets of Duration cards in a setup that includes
Grand Ballroom. Remember that even if you have multiple Advisors in play, they all still have the same name
(Advisor) for purposes of Grand Ballroom. Contingency Markers are only considered Duration Cards on the turn
they are in effect.

Royal Chambers: Think of it as a Throne Room that acts over two turns instead of one. There is one difference
between Royal Chambers and Throne Room. Royal Chambers’ “keep it with Royal Chambers” trumps other
cards’ abilities to trash or discard themselves (Feast, Embargo). The card is kept with Royal Chambers rather
than trashed or discarded. (It is Trashed or Discarded as appropriate when you play it the second time on your
next turn). A special note on Royal Chambers and Duration Cards. Remember that on the turn following playing
such a set, you have TWO copies of that duration card in play. Discard Royal Chambers instead of the Duration
card at the end of that following turn. If the Royal Chambers are played with a card that stays in play for longer
than one additional turn, keep Royal Chambers with that card as a reminder that it is a duplicate of that
Duration Card, and discard Royal Chambers first if that card is removed from play or trashed.

Strongroom: Treasure cards placed under Strongroom are placed face up to assure that they are Treasures.
Note that if Strongroom leaves play due to Dismissal, you still place all cards under it into your hand.

Taxation: Tax Tokens do not change the cost of cards. They add to the cost to buy the cards from that pile. But
the cost of the cards stays the same for purposes of things like Remodel, Salvager, Mine, University, and so
forth. Tax Tokens do affect the cost to buy cards during an Alliance Buy phase.

Tower: If you have multiple Towers in play, you may move multiple cards from your deck to your discard pile,
but you still may only see the top card of other players’ decks. Note that you may only view the top card of
decks during your turn.

RECOMMENDED SETS OF TEN
ROYAL COURT ONLY

Buried Treasure, Cartographer, Contingency Plans, Dignitary, Grand Ballroom, Emporium, Advisor, Tower,
Dismissal, Strategist

Alliance, Servant’s Quarters, Taxation, Emporium, Strongroom, Dungeon, Advisor, Dignitary, Vizier, Cartographer



ROYAL COURT COMBINED WITH OTHER SETS

Mind Bender: Throne Room (basic), King’s Court (Prosperity), Royal Chambers (Royal Court), Dungeon (Royal
Court), Golem (Alchemy), Cartographer (Royal Court), Masquerade (Intrigue), Conspirator (Intrigue), Possession
(Alchemy), Tactician (Seaside)

Victory: Gardens (Basic), Great Hall (Intrigue), Vineyard (Alchemy), Nobles (Intrigue), Emporium (Royal Court),
Dungeon (Royal Court), Lighthouse (Seaside), Strategist (Royal Court), Advisor (Royal Court), Contraband
(Prosperity).

Royal Court of Magic: Journeyman (Books of Magic), Book of Prophecy (Books of Magic), Dark Library (Books of
Magic), Ward (Books of Magic), Book of Pain (Books of Magic), Vizier (Royal Court), Advisor (Royal Court), Buried
Treasure (Royal Court), Cartographer (Royal Court), Dignitary (Royal Court)

PLAYTESTERS * THANKS

Thanks to playtesters Tim Baldwin, Shawn Strickland, Amber Strickland, Lewis Wagner, Barry Brueggeman,
Cheryl Brueggeman, Laura Young, and “Gwommy.”

Thanks to everyone on Board Game Geek who made suggestions.

Original Dominion game designed by Donald X. Vaccarino, and published by Rio Grande Games.

APPENDIX A — CARD REACTION REFERENCE

Taster: The thing to note is that you do not get the benefit of Duration cards put into play by Taster on the turn
they are put into play, but that benefit happens immediately after the turn ends. Keep in mind that you can gain
cards while it isn’t your turn via cards like Masquerade, Ambassador, Sinister Gift, and others.

Card Benefit Card Benefit
Caravan +1 Card on your next turn. Advisor At the start of all future turns, you may
Fishing Village +1 Action, +1 Coin on your next turn. Exchequer discard a Treasure from your hand to
Since it has no effect when it comes gain +2 coins.
Haven into play, there is no card to draw on Advisor No specific effect until you shuffle your
your next turn. General deck. You may not place a use token on
After the current turn ends, while the card the turn it comes into play.
i isi Advisor
Lighthouse Lighthouse is in play when aTnother At the start of all future turns, +1 Buy.
player plays an Attack card it does not Herald
affect you. +1 Coin on your next turn. Advisor No specific effect until you shuffle your
Merchant Ship +2 Coins on your next turn. High Priest deck. You may not place a use token on
Take an extra turn after this one. This the card the turn it comes into play.
Outpost cannot cause you to take more than Advisor You may start using Man At Arms’
two consecutive turns. Man At Arms power as soon as the current turn ends.
. . +1 Action, +1 Buy, +5 Cards at the start Advisor No specific effect until you shuffle your
Tactician .
of your next turn. Prime deck. You may not place a use token on
+1 Buy, +2 Cards at the start of your Minister the card the turn it comes into play.
Wharf
next turn. There can only be one Taster. If you
Advisor No specific effect until you shuffle your Advisor somehow gain a Taster when you have
. deck. You may not place a use token Taster one in play then you are doing
Chamberlin . . .
on the card the turn it comes into play. something wrong.
i Advisor
AdVISOI: Same as on card. dviso No change from the card.
Champion Treasurer



Card
Buried
Treasure

Cartographer

Dignitary

Dungeon

Grand
Ballroom

Emporium

Benefit
As on the card.

Next turn, you may draw a card after
playing an Action card (excluding
Cartographer).

As soon as the current turn ends, all
cards cost 1 Coin more. This lasts until
the start of your next turn.

Only the part of the card that starts
after “Now and all your future turns” is
in effect. If Dungeon leaves play on the
turn that it comes into play due to
Taster then discard the cards
underneath it instead of trashing them.
At the buy phase of your next turn, +1
Coin for each differently named
Duration card you have in play.

The Emporium remains in play but has
no effect on future turns.

Card

Royal
Chambers

Strongroom

Tower

Benefit

Since it has no effect when it comes
into play, there is no card to play on
your next turn.

You may do what is on the card on your
next turn. If Strongroom leaves play on
the same turn that it comes into play
due to Taster then discard the cards
underneath it instead of putting them
into your hand.

During your next turn, you may
examine the top card of all players’
decks. At the start of your next turn,
you may move the top card of your
deck to your discard pile.

Contingency Plans: Here is how Contingency Plans works with other cards.

Card
Caravan
Fishing Village

Haven

Lighthouse

Merchant Ship
Outpost

Tactician
Wharf

Advisor
Chamberlin

Advisor
Champion

Advisor
Exchequer

Advisor
General
Advisor
Herald
Advisor
High Priest

Benefit

+1 Card on your next turn.

+1 Action, +1 Coin on your next turn.
There is no card to draw on your next
turn.

+1 Coin on your next turn. Also should
another player play an Attack card
when it is your next turn, it does not
affect you.

+2 Coins on your next turn.

No effect.

+1 Action, +1 Buy, +5 Cards at the start
of your next turn.

+1 Buy, +2 Cards at the start of your
next turn.

No specific effect unless you shuffle
your deck during your turn before your
clean up phase.

You may use the card as stated.

At the start of your turn, you may
discard a Treasure from your hand to
gain +2 coins.

No specific effect unless you shuffle
your deck at the start of your turn.

+1 Buy at the start of your next turn.

No specific effect unless you shuffle
your deck at the start of your turn.

Card

Advisor
Man At Arms

Advisor
Prime

Minister

Advisor
Taster

Advisor
Treasurer
Buried
Treasure

Cartographer

Dignitary

Dungeon

Grand
Ballroom

Emporium

Benefit

Should another player play an Attack
card when it is your next turn, you may
place a use token on your Contingency
Marker to avoid it.

No specific effect unless you shuffle
your deck at the start of your turn.

Any Duration cards you gain during
your next turn are placed directly into
play although you do not get their
benefits on that turn.

No change from the card.

+4 Coins, -1 Action at the start of your
next turn.

Next turn, you may draw a card after
playing an Action card (excluding
Cartographer).

This has no effect.

As an Action you may place a card
under your Contingency Marker on
your next turn. Trash that card when
the Contingency Marker leaves play.
At the buy phase of your next turn, +1
Coin for each differently named
Duration card you have in play.

This has no effect. If the game ends
during your turn, the Contingency
Marker is removed from play and is not
worth 2 points.



Card
Royal
Chambers

Strongroom

Tower

Benefit
This has no effect.

You may place a treasure under your
Contingency Marker at the start of your
next turn. Return it to your hand when
the Contingency Marker leaves play.
During your next turn, you may
examine the top card of all players’
decks. At the start of your next turn,
you may move the top card of your
deck to your discard pile.

Alliance: Here is how the assorted Treasures with Benefits work with Alliance. Treat it as if each player had
their own independent buy phase and that they were playing the cards regardless of who owned them. Cards
played in one player’s Alliance Buy phase do not affect future players’ Alliance Buy Phases.

Card

Bank

Contraband

Diadem

Harem

Hoard

Horn of Plenty

Loan

Philosopher’s
Stone

Quarry

Notes

Worth 1 Coin per Treasure already
played specifically to buy the card
(including that Bank).

+1 Buy is meaningless. You may only
buy 1 card. The player to the buyer’s
left names a card and the buyer may
not buy that card for the rest of the
turn (even in the regular buy phase).
Only the person whose turn it could
potentially have unused actions.

The Harem goes back into its owner’s
hand and is worth 2 VP at the end of
the game to its owner.

If the Buyer buys a Victory card using
Hoard, Buyer gains a Gold.

Cards revealed for Alliance are not
considered to be “in play,” but duration
cards from previous turns are still “in
play,” for purpose of this card. If the
Buyer uses the Horn of Plenty’s ability
to gain a Victory card, then first the
Horn is trashed, then it is returned to
its owner’s hand.

When the Buyer chooses this card,
Buyer reveals cards from his deck until
he reveals a Treasure. Discard or trash
it and then discard the other cards.
Worth 1 Coin per 5 cards in the Buyer’s
deck and discard pile combined.

If Buyer chooses this card, Action cards
cost 2 Coins less for the Buyer’s
Alliance Buy phase. Quarry does not
affect future Buyers.

Card

Royal Seal

Stash

Talisman

Venture

Notes

Buyer may choose to put the card
bought or gained on top of his deck. If
Hoard is also used, and a Gold is
gained, Buyer may choose to place that
on top of his deck too. Royal Seal does
not affect future Buyers.

Stash is returned to Owner’s hand
during/after the Alliance Buy phase and
is never placed in a deck during the
Alliance Buy phase.

Buyer may choose to gain a second
copy of a card bought that costs 4 or
fewer coins. Talisman does not affect
future Buyers.

Buyer reveals cards from deck until
revealing a Treasure. That Treasure is
also in play for that Buyer. The other
cards are discarded. The revealed
Treasure is placed in its owner’s hand
after being used or at the end of the
Alliance Buy phase.



